Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evidence Based Medicine/Practice Databases
The concept of evidence based practice (EBM) means integrating clinical expertise with the best available scientific clinical evidence with patient preferences.
Evidence Based Medicine/Practice Databases for Searching Filtered Information
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Full-text systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare by The Cochrane Collaboration
National Guideline Clearinghouse
National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. In addition to searching or browsing for guidelines, results can be displayed in tabular format to allow for comparison. A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans. Updated weekly.
Note: Guideline evidence varies from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.
Systematic Reviews are also searchable in PubMed:
Click on “Clinical Queries” under PubMed Tools in the center of the screen; Enter your search query; Systematic Reviews will be dispalyed in the center column.
Ovid - Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database
Complete evidence-based practice content set from the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) via OvidSP.This range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
Additional Databases for Nursing Literature Reviews
Evidence is not always available via filtered resources. Searching the primary literature may be required. It is possible to use specific search strategies in MEDLINE and other databases to achieve the highest possible level of evidence.
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
CINAHL® Complete (EBSCO)
CINAHL® Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,600 journals. Content coverage includes 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
MedLine (Available on campus.)
Covers all areas of medicine, including clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and much more. Includes the MeSH thesaurus. (This database is provided under the Library Services and Technology Act grant through the Florida Electronic Library.)
A Review by Any Other Name
Literature reviews can range from quick and dirty to detailed and thorough. When searching for the evidence or working under the title of 'evidence based' it's best to be as detailed and thorough as possible.
- documenting your work - where & how you searched;
- searching multiple databases;
- using multiple terms for each of your PICO concepts;
- using AND/OR (Boolean logic)- correctly of course!
- asking a librarian either for assistance or to perform the literature search for you
Evidence-Based Medicine Tutorials