Skip to main content

Library Instruction Menu

Recommended Lessons (any discipline)

Library Overview (10-15 min or 30-45 min)Schedule your class

Pick your lesson length:

  • Short: 10-15 min lesson, "10 things you should know about the library" (perfect library research lesson add-on)
  • Comprehensive: 30-45 min introduction to library, services, and discipline specific resources. 

This library workshop is designed to introduce students to the library.  Students will learn about services and resources available from the Swisher Library.  Students will also learn how to contact the library for assistance.  


Discipline Specific Resources (30-45 min)Schedule your class

This library workshop is designed to be an overview of library resources for a specific discipline.  At the end of this session, students will be able to find discipline specific resources using library databases. 


Assignment Specific Research Workshop (30-45 min)Schedule your class

Send us your research assignment and we will create a custom library workshop lesson to meet the needs of your students.  Students will learn how to use library resources to complete their assignment.


Student Research Day (2nd visit to the library) (50 min)Schedule your class

This session is designed as a follow-up to the assignment specific research workshop.  Before the session, students must have a research topic and an upcoming research assignment due.  During this session, students will spend most of the class period working on their research with the help of a librarian.  A librarian will be available to answer questions from students.  The librarian can also provide students with database and keyword recommendations based on each individual research topic.  Students will have the opportunity to ask a librarian about their research, citations, sources, or the library databases.  This session will be held in either the Johnson Computer Lab or a computer classroom.


Advanced Research for Graduate students (30-45 min)Schedule your class

This in-depth library workshop is designed to assist graduate students with their capstone or thesis research.  At the end of this session, students will be able to use the library's resources to successfully complete their final research project. 


Plagiarism Workshop (15 min, 45 min, or 60 min lesson) Schedule your class

Pick your lesson length:

  • Short: 15 min lesson (perfect library research lesson add-on)
  • Comprehensive: 45 min lesson
  • Comprehensive + Activity: 60 min lesson with discussion and active learning plagiarism activity

This library workshop is designed to teach students how to avoid plagiarism.  At the end of this session, students will be able to recognize plagiarism, avoid plagiarism, properly cite their sources, and understand Jacksonville University's Academic Integrity Policy.


Popular vs. Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Sources (15 min, 30 min, or 60 min lesson) Schedule your class

Pick your lesson length:

  • Short: 15 min lesson (perfect library research lesson add-on)
  • Comprehensive: 30 min lesson with discussion and active learning activity
  • Comprehensive + Activity60 min lesson with discussion, active learning activity, and database searching

This library workshop is designed to prepare students for academic research.  At the end of this session, students will be able to define popular sources, scholarly sources, and peer-reviewed sources.  In addition, students will understand how to use library databases to find scholarly peer-reviewed sources.  


Keyword Brainstorming and Savvy Database Searching (15 min, or 30-45 min lesson) Schedule your class

Pick your lesson length:

  • Short: 15 min lesson (perfect library research lesson add-on)
  • Comprehensive + Activity: 30-45 min lesson with discussion, active learning activity, and database searching

This library workshop is designed to introduce students to keyword brainstorming, an important step in the research process.  Students will learn how to use boolean terms (AND, OR, and NOT) to broaden or narrow their search.  Students will also learn savvy searching tips to use in library databases. 


Evaluating Sources (15 min or 30-45 min)Schedule your class

Pick your lesson length:

  • Short: 15 min lesson (perfect library research lesson add-on)
  • Comprehensive: 30 min lesson with discussion and active learning activity

This library workshop is designed to teach students how to evaluate sources (books, articles, websites, etc.) by critically analyzing the author, publisher, date, etc.  At the end of this session, students will be able to evaluate sources for quality.  Students will be able to answer the following questions: 

  • Is the source too old?
  • Is the author credible?
  • Is the source bias?
  • Can I use this source for my paper?

Evaluating Websites (15 min or 45 min)Schedule your class

Pick your lesson length:

  • Short: 15 min lesson (perfect library research lesson add-on)
  • Comprehensive: 45 min lesson with discussion and active learning activity

This library workshop is designed to teach students how to evaluate websites for credibility.  Students will learn how to evaluate a website, a critical lifelong information literacy skill.  


APA Workshop (30 min or 60 min)Schedule your class

Pick your lesson length:

  • Short: 30 min lesson (perfect library research lesson add-on)
  • Comprehensive: 60 min lesson with Q&A and APA practice

This library workshop will teach students how to cite their sources using APA 6th ed. format. During this session, students will learn which elements are needed to create a citation, how to create an APA citation, how to format a paper according to APA rules, and how to give credit to sources using in-text citations.


MLA Workshop (30 min or 60 min)Schedule your class

Pick your lesson length:

  • Short: 30 min lesson (perfect library research lesson add-on)
  • Comprehensive: 45-60 min lesson with Q&A and MLA practice

This library workshop will teach students how to cite their sources using MLA 8th ed. format. During this session, students will learn which elements are needed to create a citation, how to create a MLA citation, how to format a paper according to MLA rules, and how to give credit to sources using in-text citations.


Teaching online?  Swisher Library now offers live synchronous online library instruction via
BlSchedule your classackboard Collaborate Ultra.  All our library workshops are available online in an electronic format.