Swisher Library: NUR 630: Epidemiology and Biostatistics: Literature Review

Permission

Information on this guide was borrowed with permission from the University of Missouri J. Otto Lottes Health Sciences Library.

The Literature Review

Learn about the literature review process in this video from NC State University Libraries.

Evidence Based Medicine/Practice Databases for Searching Filtered Information

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Full-text systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare by The Cochrane Collaboration
National Guideline Clearinghouse
National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. In addition to searching or browsing for guidelines, results can be displayed in tabular format to allow for comparison. A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans. Updated weekly.

Note: Guideline evidence varies from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.
Systematic Reviews are also searchable in PubMed
Click on “Clinical Queries” under PubMed Tools in the center of the screen; Enter your search query; Systematic Reviews will be dispalyed in the center column.
TRIP Database: Turning Research Into Practice
Allows users to identify evidence-based medical literature for a wide variety of sources.

Ovid - Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database
This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across five publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, and Systematic Review Protocols.

Additional Databases for Nursing Literature Reviews

Evidence is not always available via filtered resources. Searching the primary literature may be required. It is possible to use specific search strategies in MEDLINE and other databases to achieve the highest possible level of evidence.

PubMed
PubMed® comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,600 journals. Content coverage includes 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine, and more.

A Review by Any Other Name

Literature reviews can range from quick and dirty to detailed and thorough. When searching for the evidence or working under the title of 'evidence based' it's best to be as detailed and thorough as possible.

This means

documenting your work - where & how you searched;
searching multiple databases;
using multiple terms for each of your PICO concepts;
using AND/OR (Boolean logic);
asking a librarian for assistance, if needed.

NUR 630: Epidemiology and Biostatistics

Permission

The Literature Review

Evidence Based Medicine/Practice Databases for Searching Filtered Information

Additional Databases for Nursing Literature Reviews

A Review by Any Other Name

Additional Resources