Skip to Main Content

Bar Exam Information

Florida Bar

The header for the Florida Board of Bar Examiners: Administrative Board of the Supreme Court of Florida

The Florida Bar Exam is a two-day exam administered by the Florida Board of Bar Examiners.

Day one of the exam consists of the Florida essays and Florida multiple choice. The essay session is made up of three essay questions to be answered in a three-hour block. The multiple choice section is three hours long and consists of 100 Florida-specific multiple choice questions.

Day two of the exam consists of the MBE, two hundred multiple choice questions administered over two three-hour blocks.

In addition, a student seeking admission to the Florida Bar must take and pass the MPRE as well as pass the Board's character and fitness review.

Past Florida Exams

The Florida Bar Examination Study Guide is updated with the essay questions from the last examination twice annually. The sample multiple-choice questions included in the guide are updated periodically.  

Florida Board of Bar Examiners - Study Guides

First and Second Year

Register as a First or Second Year Student

File the Student Registration by the earliest deadline under rule 2-23.1(a) to qualify for the lowest fee; students filing for the first time in the second year of law school must pay the full registration fee of $400. Special Note: Student Registration provides both the Certified LegaI Internship (CLI) clearance requirement, and preliminary processing for admission to The Florida Bar.

2-23.1 Student Registrant Fee. Except as provided below, every law student filing a Registrant Bar Application with the board must file with the completed Registrant Bar Application the fee of $400. For any law student who files a Registrant Bar Application by the deadlines established, discounted early registration fees are available as follows:

a. $100. For those students who commence the study of law in:

1. August or September and who file a Registrant Bar Application by the following January 15;
2. January or February and who file a Registrant Bar Application by the following June 15;
3. May or June and who file a Registrant Bar Application by the following October 15.

b. $350.  For those students who commence the study of law in:

1. August or September and who file a Registrant Bar Application by the following March 15;
2. January or February and who file a Registrant Bar Application by the following August 15; or
3. May or June and who file a Registrant Bar Application by the following December 15.