Swisher Library: DNP: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the DNP Project Research Guide.

For general information about program guidelines and videos about searching for articles in nursing, see the Literature Reviews section of the NUR 630 guide.

Health Science Databases

The following databases contain varying levels of evidence. Ranging from expert opinions to systematic reviews and meta analyses, these health sciences databases are the best place to start your search. Most of the information in these databases has been peer-reviewed, but most articles have not been evaluated by experts to determine the strength of the evidence. This is called unfiltered information.

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,600 journals. Content coverage includes 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine, and more.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest)
Nursing & Allied Premium is a database for nursing research, clinical skills development, and curriculum support complete with a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources.
Ovid Full-Text Nursing
Access over 20,000 articles in both research- and practitioner-oriented journals.

Ebook Central: Nursing (ProQuest)
A collection of over 500 nursing eBooks available from Ebook Central. Browse titles and chapters, or search for your topic by keyword.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine includes information created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. This database is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics. (This database is provided under the Library Services and Technology Act grant through the Florida Electronic Library.)
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health includes full-text titles cited in CINAHL to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Nursing and Allied Health helps nursing professionals working in the field as well as students studying a nursing-focused curriculum. (This database is provided under the Library Services and Technology Act grant through the Florida Electronic Library.)
Ovid - Books@Ovid
Ovid delivers key medical, nursing, and pharmacy full text manuals, guides, and textbooks from a variety of publishers to clinicians' desktops through the Books@Ovid database. Books@Ovid offers the complete text of these sources in a highly interlinked and easily navigated graphical interface, giving quick access to crucial diagnostic, research, and reference information.
Ovid - Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database
This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across five publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, and Systematic Review Protocols.
Ovid - Journals@Ovid
Search all nursing journals available from Ovid including: American Journal of Nursing, Evidence-Based Nursing, Nursing Research, Nursing Management, Journal of Patient Safety, and more.
Ovid MEDLINE
Updated daily, Ovid MEDLINE offers novice and expert searchers seamless and up-to-the-minute access to over 23 million of the latest citations and abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals. Please note: Ovid MEDLINE uses a different search interface than PubMed.
Ovid Nursing Database
Ovid Nursing Database includes information from Journals@Ovid and Ovid MEDLINE, the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database.
PubMed
PubMed® comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
R2 Digital Library
The R2 Digital Library is a web based database available from Rittenhouse Book Distributors. It offers fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing and allied health source book content from key health science publishers, on a web based platform. AVAILABLE ON CAMPUS ONLY
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
ScienceDirect provides access to more than 18 million articles and book chapters from over 2,650 peer-reviewed journals and 42,000 e-books, including books, book series and major reference works, and digital archives that reach as far back as 1823. Subject areas include physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
UpToDate
(UpToDate is only available to Graduate Nurse Practitioner students and Nursing faculty.) UpToDate is a peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool specifically designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests In Print (EBSCO)
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this resource is essential for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. Designed for novices and professionals alike, it contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership.
APA PsycArticles (EBSCO)
PsycArticles, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA and affiliated journals.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO)
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this abstract & indexing database is the world's larger resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Over 2,000 journals available, some with coverage dating back to the 17th and 18th centuries.