Swisher Library: English: Databases

Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This multidisciplinary database is a great place to search for any topic. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
JSTOR
This multidisciplinary database provides access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. The Swisher Library currently provides access to the following JSTOR collections: Business Collection I-IV, Language and Literature Collection, Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences IV, and Life Sciences.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
MLA International Bibliography covers a broad range of humanities subjects. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the bibliography directs researchers to more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19th century to the present. Coverage is international, encompassing scholarly publications in more than 70 languages.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of more than 600,000 words, past and present, from across the English-speaking world.
Literary Reference Source (EBSCO)
Literary Reference Source is a rich full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center offers up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Its materials support interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills. (This database is provided under the Library Services and Technology Act grant through the Florida Electronic Library.)
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO)
This database provides full text of more than 1,200 journals, books, and other publications covering all aspects of the humanities.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is an online reference library, providing access to thousands of articles from reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries. This database is a great resource for both quick facts and gathering background information or learning new concepts and terms.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies
Developed cooperatively with scholars worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies in Latin American Studies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across the field of Latin American Studies. This module contains recommended sources from a vast range of disciplinary perspectives, including history, literature, sociology, economics, anthropology, and political science.

Streaming Video Content

Kanopy
Kanopy is a video streaming service with an expertly curated collection of videos across various courses of study. Use your JU username and password to log in and view the collection.

Kanopy has rich collections of English-related streaming content to explore, including videos about: