Special Collections

The Special Collections and University Archives Department is dedicated to providing patrons with open access to collection materials in accordance with university, departmental, state, and federal privacy and information protection legislation. We respect the lived experiences, cultural heritage, privacy, and IP Rights of the persons, groups, identities, and cultural institutions represented in our collections.

Special Collections seeks to:

• Share materials in ways that reflect the differences between contemporary historical attitudes and practices and those reflected in certain materials' content or provenance.
• Generate descriptions and provide digital access in meaningful ways that show respect for the persons, groups, identities, or cultural institutions that were historically mistreated and misrepresented in historical materials.
• Uphold the Copyright and Intellectual Property Rights of materials' creators and/or owners.

As a small team, the Special Collections Department sometimes makes mistakes or misses something. We need your help to ensure that our Digital Archives achieves these goals of reparative description and support of creators' information rights.

Please submit the following Digital Archives Take-Down Request Form to help the Special Collections Department detect and investigate any description or information access conflicts. Such concerns could include, but are not limited to, issues of intellectual property attribution, copyright infringements, inaccurate information, and reparative description as related to the digitally available materials and/or their corresponding metadata descriptions. For any approved requests, please allow the Special Collections Department one-full calendar year to investigate and prepare a workflow for editing any Digital Archives items and collections. Submitters are not required to provide personal information on the form but are expected to provide truthful information regarding their proposed errors and solutions.