Swisher Library: History: Databases

Databases

Find Articles
Newspaper Databases

JSTOR
This multidisciplinary database provides access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. The Swisher Library currently provides access to the following JSTOR collections: Business Collection I-IV, Language and Literature Collection, Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences IV, and Life Sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)
This comprehensive sociology database provides access to top sociology journals covering many related studies.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO)
This database provides full text of more than 1,200 journals, books, and other publications covering all aspects of the humanities.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is an online reference library, providing access to thousands of articles from reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries. This database is a great resource for both quick facts and gathering background information or learning new concepts and terms.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
MLA International Bibliography covers a broad range of humanities subjects. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the bibliography directs researchers to more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19th century to the present. Coverage is international, encompassing scholarly publications in more than 70 languages.
Kanopy
Kanopy is a video streaming service with an expertly curated collection of videos across various courses of study. Use your JU username and password to log in and view the collection.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies
Developed cooperatively with scholars worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies in Latin American Studies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across the field of Latin American Studies. This module contains recommended sources from a vast range of disciplinary perspectives, including history, literature, sociology, economics, anthropology, and political science.

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni features more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from - including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
New York Times
Use this link to register for an account to the New York Times. Once you have an account, you do not need to use the A-Z Databases link for access. Students have access through the calendar year they graduate. Faculty and staff have 4 years of full account access until reauthentication is required.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This multidisciplinary database is a great place to search for any topic. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.

Streaming Video Content

Kanopy
Kanopy is a video streaming service with an expertly curated collection of videos across various courses of study. Use your JU username and password to log in and view the collection.

Kanopy has rich collections of history-related streaming content to explore, including videos about: