APA Guide 7th ed.

Book (print or electronic) 1st Edition or Edition Not Listed (p. 321)

Format:  Author, A. A. (Year). Title of book in italics. Publisher Name. DOI or website URL or database permalink.

*If viewed in print and no DOI is listed, omit the last element from your citation

Print Book Example: Simpson, N., & Hancock, P. (2013). Practical operations management. Hercher Publishing.

Database eBook Example: Hischak, T. S., & Robinson, M. A. (2009). The Disney song encyclopedia. Scarecrow Press. https://ju.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=285735&site=ehost-live

Book (print or electronic) with Edition other than 1st  (p. 321-322)

Format: Author, A. A. (Year). Title of book in italics (edition# ed.). Publisher Name. DOI or website URL or database permalink.
*If viewed in print and no DOI is listed, omit the last element from your citation

Print Book Example: Audi, R. (2015). The Cambidge dictionary of philosophy (3rd ed.). Cambridge University Press.

Database eBook Example: Kauffman, L. H. (2000). Knots and physics, (3rd ed.). World Scientific Publishing. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ju-ebooks/detail.action?docID=183741

Book (print or electronic) with an Editor instead of an Author (p. 322)

Format: Editor, A. A. (Ed.). (Year). Title of book in italics (edition # ed.). Publisher Name. DOI or website URL or database permalink.
*If viewed in print and no DOI is listed, omit the last element from your citation

Print Book Example: Dieterle, D. A., & Simmons, K. C. (Ed.). (2014). Government and the economy. Greenwood.

Database eBook Example: Montegge, E. J. (Ed.). (2011). Her majesty's treasury: Spending review 2010. Nova Science Publishers. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ju-ebooks/detail.action?docID=3021929 

Book (print or electronic) with a DOI (p. 321)

Format: Author, A. A. (Year). Title of book in italics. Publisher Name. https://doi.org/xxx

• Do not include the publisher's location (city/state) (p. 295)
• According to APA, include the DOI for print and electronic books (if available) (p. 299).  Here at JU, most print books do not have a DOI.  An electronic book from a library database (EBSCO, ProQuest, etc.) may or may not have a DOI listed.  APA does not require you to include the URL for ebooks accessed from a database (p. 299).  However, most professors at JU will require you to include the permalink to the source in the database where you retrieved the cited work.  Librarians recommend adding the permalink to the end of the citation.  Learn more about how to create permanent links. (pp. 296, 298-299)

DOI stands for Digital Object Identifier.  Look for the Digital Object Identifier (DOI) when searching for electronic database articles and ebooks.  Be sure to include the DOI at the end of your article citation.