Skip to main content

APA Guide 7th ed.

Citing Part of a Book or eBook (pp. 321-329; 298-299)

Chapter or Article (print or electronic) from an Edited Collection of Essays

Format: Essay or Entry Author, A. A. (Year). Title of essay, chapter or article. In A. A. Last name (Ed.), Title of book in italics (Edition ed., pp. of essay, chapter or article). Publisher. DOI or website URL or database permalink.

*If viewed in print and no DOI is listed, omit the last element from your citation

Print Book Example: Lwanga, S. (2013). Daybreak. in B. Butake (Ed.), Cameroon anthology of poetry (pp. 97-98). Langaa.

Database eBook Example: Newton, L. H. (2015). In defense of the traditional nurse. In H. Kuhse, U. Schüklenk, & P. Singer (Ed.),  Bioethics: An anthology (3rd ed., pp. 700-707). John Wiley & Sons. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ju-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4042986


Article or Entry (print or electronic) from a Reference Book

Format: Entry Author, A. A. (Year). Title of entry. In Editor’s A. A. Last name (Ed.), Title of book in italics (Edition ed., Vol. number, pp. numbers). Publisher. DOI or website URL or database permalink.

*If viewed in print and no DOI is listed, omit the last element from your citation

Print Book Example: Niiniluoto, I. (2015). Finnish philosophy. In R. Audi (Ed.), The Cambridge dictionary of philosophy (3rd. ed., pp. 361-362). Cambridge University Press.

Database eBook Example: Archer, K. (2006). Central Florida, Disneyfictation of. In R. Pillsbury, J. G. Thomas, & A. J. Abadie, (Ed.), The new encyclopedia of southern culture (vol. 2, pp. 66-69). University of North Carolina Press.  https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ju-ebooks/detail.action?docID=880005


Tips for citing part of a book (print or electronic):

  • Do not include the publisher's location (city/state) (p. 295)
  • According to APA, include the DOI for print and electronic books (if available) (p. 299).  Here at JU, most print books do not have a DOI.  An electronic book from a library database (EBSCO, ProQuest, etc.) may or may not have a DOI listed.  APA does not require you to include the URL for ebooks accessed from a database (p. 299).  However, most professors at JU will require you to include the permalink to the source in the database where you retrieved the cited work.  Librarians recommend adding the permalink to the end of the citation.  Click here to learn more about permanent links. (pp. 296, 298-299)