Skip to main content

APA Guide 7th ed.

Citing a Journal Article (pp. 294; 316-321)

Electronic Journal Article From a Database or Website without a DOI

Format: Author, A. A.  (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal in Italics, volume number in italics(issue number), page number(s). DOI or website URL or database permalink.

Example: Neutzling, M., Pratt, E., & Parker, M. (2019). Perceptions of learning to teach in a constructivist environment. Physical Educator, 76(3), 756–776. https://ju.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=137040967&site=ehost-live


Electronic Journal Article From a Database or Website with a DOI

Format: Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal in Italics, volume number in italics(issue number), page number(s). https://doi.org/xxx

Example: McCauley, S. M., & Christiansen, M. H. (2019). Language learning as language use: A cross-linguistic model of child language development.  Psychological Review, 126(1), 1-51. https://doi.org/10.1037/rev0000126


Paper Journal Article 

Format: Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal in Italics, volume number in italics(issue number), page number(s).


Tips for citing an electronic journal article from a library database:

  • If viewed in print and no DOI is listed, omit the DOI element from your citation
  • According to APA, include the DOI for print and electronic articles (if available) (p. 299).  Here at JU, an electronic article from a library database (EBSCO, ProQuest, etc.) may or may not have a DOI listed.  APA does not require you to include the URL for articles accessed from a database (p. 299).  However, most professors at JU will require you to include the permalink to the source in the database where you retrieved the cited work.  Librarians recommend adding the permalink to the end of the citation.  Click here to learn more about permanent links. (pp. 296, 298-299)

What is a DOI?

DOI stands for Digital Object Identifier.  Look for the Digital Object Identifier (DOI) when searching for electronic database articles and ebooks.  Be sure to include the DOI at the end of your article citation.